Fahrenheit – Fahrenheit

August 7, 2008 at 9:09 pm Leave a comment

1. Wo You Wo De Young
2. Xia Xue
3. Zhi Dui Ni You Gan Jue – featuring Hebe from S.H.E.
4. Yi Ge Ren Liu Lang
5. Zhao Xing Fu Gei Ni
6. Ai Dao
7. Chu Kou
8. 2 Yue 30 Hao Jian
9. Qing Zai Wo Hou Hui Zhi Qian Li Kai Wo
10. Bu Si Zhi Mi
11. Zhi Dui Ni You Gan Jue – remix

Even though I’ve said that Fahrenheit as a group is pretty different from Johnny’s group, music-wise, they’re not much different. They’re well produced, supported by good songwriters, and most importantly – well marketed. Vocally, they’re not bad, but of course there’s always room for improvement. Also, when you first start listening to them, it’s difficult to tell the different between their voices except for Wu Chun who’s bass; the rest are all tenor.

Wo You Wo De Young is their first single; it’s a pretty standard boy band track that gives each member some solo lines with the rest of the group harmonizing in the background. It’s pretty obvious in this song that they can’t quite reach some of the higher notes. In their vocal range, there’s no problem at all – it’s all very good. Next time the song writers better keep their ranges in mind…it’s no good to hear them stretching for the note. Besides that though, this is a really fun song with a catchy chorus.

Zhi Dui Ni You Gan Jue features Hebe Tian from girl group S.H.E. of the same music label. Their voices go together really nicely and the song is quite catchy. The synth and the strings are some really nice touches in the arrangement. This was one of the first song I ever listened to, before I really became a fan and even then I still liked this song. The album also includes a remix. It doesn’t really depart from the original very much, a bit faster with a heavier beat and has a little extra synth. It’s not bad, but it’s not better than the original mix.

Generally, Fahrenheit does well with ballads and there are loads on this album. Xia Xue is the first of their slow and sweet ballads. The arrangement is quite pretty and utilizes their ability to harmonize well, while keeping them in their respective vocal ranges. It’s not ground breaking or anything, but it is very soothing to listen to and I wouldn’t mind having this piece on repeat. Yi Ge Ren Liu Lang is a really nice acoustic piece, starting off with some solo lines. I really like the guitar part in the arrangement; it’s simple but very pretty. Like Xia Xue, it’s a soothing piece and vocals are pretty good here too. Although the verses are a little boring, the chorus is quite nice.

Chu Kou is a slightly more upbeat semi-ballad. Vocals are pretty good here and the harmonizing is done well. There’s a little piano solo in the middle that’s really nice. The verses are also not bad and the chorus can be quite pretty at some points. There’s also a key change, but it doesn’t really add anything special to the song.

2 Yue 30 Hao Jian picks up the pace (finally!) but unfortunately whoever wrote the melody lines forgot that these boys can’t reach some of the higher notes in the chorus. This is sad because the verses are pretty good and rather fun. Maybe they should re-record this someday when they develop a better range. Qing Zai Wo Hou Hui Zhi Qian Li Kai Wo is another ballad that suffers similarly from the boys stretching for a few of the high notes. The melody lines are rather pretty at some points and there is this one part where Aaron (I think) is just backed by piano, which is really nice.

For some reason the intro to Zhao Xing Fu Gei Ni sounds really familiar, like I’ve heard it somewhere but I can’t put my finger on it. The arrangement has a bit of a Latin feel to it and as for the song, it’s another ballad. There’s a little bit of English and since 3/4 can speak English fairly well, pronunciation is spot on. This one is a little boring and feels a little draggy, even though it’s not actually very long.

Ai Dao has light R&B feeling. I really like this track especially because of chorus. Even though it’s a bit repetitive, the melody is quite nice and I don’t really mind it. Although it’s ballad-like, it distinguishes itself from others because of the light beat and the slightly faster tempo. Also, the guitar part is quite nice.

Bu Si Zhi Mi is a big departure from the rest of the album with its heavy rock and rap theme. It feels really out of place on an album full of ballads, but I am welcoming it even though I don’t really like rap that much. It’s done quite well, and I’m liking it.

What’s kind of nice is that they don’t stick to one genre or look. They have their straight pop and their ballads, but there are also light R&B and even rap tracks. But still, it’d be nice to see less ballads and a more balanced album the next time around.

Entry filed under: Taiwanese (and misc. Chinese) Albums. Tags: .

[Jmovie] Tegami [Jmovie] Summer Time Machine Blues

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



%d bloggers like this: